Cycle of Burning - Custom Hearthstone Card

Cycle of Burning

8th February, 2021 (RR)

Made by Elemastermind

Randomizer (3.6)5 months ago
Alright, that makes sense.
Shoemanband (4)5 months ago
My original problem is this: If the card isn't going into your hand, then it should be worded like Star Student Stelina or Sightless Watcher. If it is going into your hand, then it should specify the card being corrupted is your opponent's copy.
Shoemanband (4)5 months ago
Ivory Knight doesn't specify where the card you Discovered goes, but it still goes into your hand. This doesn't specify where the card goes, so does that mean it also goes into your hand? Body Wrapper, as unintuitive as it was when first revealed, still tells you where the card goes.
Randomizer (3.6)5 months ago
If THEY have only 1 turn to play it, clearly you can't be holding the card. Something is clearly being done to the card, it's being corrupted Chaos Gazer style, so it's even consistent with the examples you mentioned.
Stevethebarbarian (3.8)5 months ago
Yes, whether Discover adds the relevant card to your hand is generally a matter of common sense.
Shoemanband (4)5 months ago
This card doesn't specify what is happening to IT other than that your opponent has a turn to play it, not whose hand it is going into.
Shoemanband (4)5 months ago
That is not true. Nine Lives and Myra Rotspring are the only cards that specify the effects are separate with "also". Cards like Ivory Knight, Primordial Glyph, and the Studies cards all have extra effects that don't override adding the card to your hand. Cards like Eternal Servitude only override that part because they specify what is being done to the card (Summon IT, Cast IT, Shuffle IT into your deck) which is why maintaining that consistency is important.
Poondaedalin (4)5 months ago
Yep. The general rule of thumb is to read Discover as "Look at one of 3 cards." If there's no secondary effect, it's added to your hand. Otherwise, the secondary effect is carried out using the card that you just picked.
Randomizer (3.6)5 months ago
The rule with Discover has been that you assume any effect that comes after the Discover overrides adding the copy to your hand (Eternal Servitude) unless the effect states otherwise (Nine Lives says "also," implying separate effect). The wording on this card is actually quite clear, follows all the rules of Discover. The "playable" part is also the same wording used on Chaos Gazer.
Shoemanband (4)5 months ago
You should also specify if this Discovers a copy, i.e. it's being generated, or if it steals the card from their hand, which would make the second effect even more confusing.
Shoemanband (4)5 months ago
Does it add the card you Discover to your hand, or not? Discover effects usually refer to 'it' as the card you get (see Tortollan Pilgrim), but the second sentence seems to refer to your opponent's copy instead. This should either say,
"Look at 3 playable cards in your opponent's hand. They have 1 turn to play it."
Or,
"Discover a playable card in your opponent's hand. They have 1 turn to play their copy."
It's also unclear if "playable" means playable for you or your opponent.